# Musk Pledges a SpaceX Share to Every US Kid: The Math

> Musk says he will give one SpaceX share to every US kid next year: about 72 million shares, roughly $10.5 billion at the last close. The math.

- Author: Nitish Garg, Founder & CEO, CellCog
- Published: 2026-10-19
- Canonical (HTML): https://cellcog.ai/blog/musk-spacex-share-every-kid/
- Section: Insights / Category basics
- Publisher: CellCog (https://cellcog.ai), the AI employee platform. Blog index for agents: https://cellcog.ai/blog/llms.txt

## Key points

- Elon Musk posted at 07:52 UTC on October 19, 2026 that next year he will give one of his SpaceX shares to every kid in America, the first of many.
- The Census Bureau counts 72,021,348 US residents under 18 as of July 1, 2025. Musk has not defined who counts as a kid.
- At SpaceX's last close, $146.03 on October 16, one share each comes to about $10.5 billion; at the $135 IPO price, about $9.7 billion.
- That is about 1.1% of the 6,418,547,515 SpaceX shares Musk beneficially owned on June 30, a 48.4% stake per his SEC filing.
- It came the day after Anthropic's Public Benefit Fund, which Musk answered with a recommendation to give shares directly to the public.

## At a glance

- **What did Musk promise?** One of his SpaceX shares to every kid in America next year, in an X post at 07:52 UTC on October 19, 2026, calling it the first of many.
- **What would it cost?** About $10.5 billion at SpaceX's October 16 close of $146.03, if every one of the 72 million US residents under 18 got one share.
- **How would the shares reach children?** Not announced. Hours before the pledge, Musk answered 'Yes' when a user asked whether he meant donating through Invest America (Trump) accounts.

**Elon Musk says he will give one of his SpaceX shares to every kid in America next year.** He [posted it](https://x.com/elonmusk/status/2112089556615123114) at 07:52 UTC on October 19, 2026, and it passed 10 million views within six hours. The post is two sentences: "Next year, I will give one of my SpaceX shares to every kid in America." Then: "This will be the first of many."

It is the third step in a sequence that started with Anthropic. On October 18 Anthropic committed 5% of its shares to a [Public Benefit Fund](https://cellcog.ai/blog/anthropic-public-benefit-fund/) held through an LLC it owns. Musk [replied](https://x.com/elonmusk/status/2111914396490604547) "I recommend giving the shares directly to the public", then [added](https://x.com/elonmusk/status/2111980598084698114) "This is what I will be doing". Seven hours later came the pledge. Below is what it costs, who counts, and what has not been said.

## What one share each comes to

SpaceX is public. Its [pricing announcement](https://content.spacex.com/cms-assets/FINAL_Documents%20and%20Updates/SpaceX_PricingAnnouncement.pdf) set the IPO at $135.00 a share on June 11, 2026, with trading on Nasdaq from June 12 under the ticker SPCX. The pledge came on a Monday before the market opened, so the latest price is Friday's close.

For the number of kids, the cleanest public count is the Census Bureau's [Vintage 2025 estimate](https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2026/vintage-2025-pop-estimates.html): 72,021,348 residents under 18 on July 1, 2025, summed from its national age file. Musk did not define "kid", so treat that as one reasonable reading, not his.

*Table: One SpaceX share per US resident under 18 (prices from SpaceX and Nasdaq, count from the Census Bureau)*

| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Children under 18, July 1, 2025 | 72,021,348 |
| IPO price, June 11, 2026 | $135.00 |
| Last close before the pledge, October 16, 2026 | $146.03 |
| Total at the IPO price | about $9.7 billion |
| Total at the October 16 close | about $10.5 billion |
| Musk's beneficially owned shares, June 30, 2026 | 6,418,547,515 |
| Share of his stake given away | about 1.1% |

Musk's stake comes from his [Schedule 13G](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1181412/000110465926095936/xslSCHEDULE_13G_X02/primary_doc.xml), filed August 13: 6,418,547,515 shares, 48.4% of the class. That count includes trust holdings, restricted shares and options, so the shares he can hand over today may be fewer. Even so, 72 million is a small fraction of it. The cost of "the first of many" is roughly $10 billion a round at today's price.

## The price moved before the pledge

The dollar figure is only as good as the share price, and SPCX had a soft week. These are the daily closes from the week before the post.

*Table: SPCX closing price, October 8 to 16, 2026*

| Day | Close |
|---|---|
| Oct 8 | $160.57 |
| Oct 9 | $162.57 |
| Oct 12 | $163.42 |
| Oct 13 | $156.54 |
| Oct 14 | $152.16 |
| Oct 15 | $148.62 |
| Oct 16 | $146.03 |

A share given "next year" will be worth whatever SPCX trades at then. The $10.5 billion line is a snapshot, not a budget.

*The pledge in three frames*

![Data illustration: 72,021,348 children under 18, one share each, about $10.5 billion at the October 16 close of $146.03](https://cellcog.ai/blog/media/musk-spacex-share-every-kid/slide-1.webp)
*What one SpaceX share for every US kid adds up to*

![Data illustration comparing Anthropic, 5% of shares held first by a wholly owned LLC, with Musk, one share per kid, holder not stated](https://cellcog.ai/blog/media/musk-spacex-share-every-kid/slide-2.webp)
*Two share commitments, two different routes to the public*

## How the shares would reach children

Nothing official yet. The only public signal came before the pledge itself. At 00:50 UTC a user wrote under Musk's "what I will be doing" post: "If he means by donating via Invest America (Trump) accounts, then I think this a very good idea!" Musk [answered](https://x.com/elonmusk/status/2112019491203031156) at 03:14 UTC with a one-word yes. Later he corrected a commenter who called it the beginning of universal basic income, writing "*universal high income".

Those accounts are a route, not a plan. Musk has not said whether every child gets a share or only those with an account, what the age cutoff is, or whether SpaceX itself takes part. We found no SpaceX statement on the pledge.

## Next to Anthropic's fund

![Animation: a 5% wedge leaves an Anthropic donut and drops into a box labelled Public Benefit Fund, Holds first: an LLC; a bubble reads I recommend giving the shares directly to the public; amber share certificates fly from a stack labelled Musk's SpaceX shares onto a row of children, with 72,021,348 kids, about $10.5 billion and Holds first: not stated](https://cellcog.ai/blog/media/musk-spacex-share-every-kid/musk-two-routes.svg)
*Anthropic routes shares through a fund it owns; Musk's pledge goes straight to each kid*

*Table: Two share commitments in two days*

| Question | Anthropic, October 18 | Musk, October 19 |
|---|---|---|
| What is committed | 5% of Anthropic's shares, plus 2% per 50% value step | One SpaceX share per US kid, "the first of many" |
| Who holds it first | A wholly owned LLC | Not stated; possibly Trump Accounts |
| Who decides the giving | Governance not yet published | Musk |
| Approval needed | Anthropic's stockholders | None stated |
| Mechanism published | No | No |

The two are not the same kind of promise. Anthropic's is corporate equity put into a vehicle that decides later, with a public benefit report promised. Musk's is his personal stock, sent straight to individuals, with the details still in his head. His criticism of Anthropic was about the middle step, the fund that holds shares before anything moves. His own pledge skips that step, and also skips the paperwork that would let anyone check it.

## What to watch

- **The mechanism.** A filing, a Treasury or SpaceX announcement, or a Musk post naming the accounts, the age line and the timing.
- **A Form 4 or 13G amendment.** Giving away tens of millions of shares would show up in Musk's ownership filings.
- **Anthropic's answer.** Its fund governance, promised for the coming months, now has a public comparison.

## Sources

- [Elon Musk on X, October 19, 07:52 UTC](https://x.com/elonmusk/status/2112089556615123114)
- [Elon Musk's reply on Invest America accounts, October 19](https://x.com/elonmusk/status/2112019491203031156)
- [SpaceX IPO pricing announcement, June 11, 2026](https://content.spacex.com/cms-assets/FINAL_Documents%20and%20Updates/SpaceX_PricingAnnouncement.pdf)
- [Musk's Schedule 13G on SpaceX, filed August 13, 2026](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1181412/000110465926095936/xslSCHEDULE_13G_X02/primary_doc.xml)
- [Census Bureau: Vintage 2025 population estimates](https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2026/vintage-2025-pop-estimates.html)
- [Anthropic: Investing in the public benefit](https://www.anthropic.com/news/public-benefit-fund)

## FAQ

**Is SpaceX publicly traded?**

Yes. SpaceX priced its IPO at $135 a share on June 11, 2026 and its Class A shares began trading on Nasdaq on June 12 under the ticker SPCX. The last close before the pledge was $146.03 on October 16.

**How many SpaceX shares does Musk own?**

His Schedule 13G, filed August 13, 2026, reports 6,418,547,515 shares beneficially owned as of June 30, 48.4% of the class. That figure includes shares held in trust, restricted shares and options.

**Who counts as a kid?**

Musk has not said. This page uses the Census Bureau's count of US residents under 18, 72,021,348 as of July 1, 2025, because that is the age line Trump Accounts use; a different cutoff changes the total.

**How is this different from Anthropic's Public Benefit Fund?**

Anthropic committed 5% of its shares to a wholly owned LLC that will decide on giving later, with governance still unpublished. Musk proposes handing individual shares to children. Neither has published the mechanism in full.

**Has Musk said how it will work?**

No plan has been published. His only public signal on the route is a one-word 'Yes' to a question about Invest America (Trump) accounts, posted before the pledge itself.

## Related

- [Anthropic Commits 5% of Its Shares to a Public Fund](https://cellcog.ai/blog/anthropic-public-benefit-fund/index.md)
- [Anthropic IPO Prospectus: What Reuters Saw, What's Filed](https://cellcog.ai/blog/anthropic-ipo-prospectus/index.md)
- [The X Subscription: Grok, Cursor and X Premium Plans, Priced](https://cellcog.ai/blog/the-x-subscription/index.md)

## The AI employee for this read

[AI Research Assistant](https://cellcog.ai/ai-employees/ai-research-assistant): I built this page. For what it covers, hire a research assistant: it reads the primary sources and cites every line.

---

Markdown alternate of https://cellcog.ai/blog/musk-spacex-share-every-kid/. Try CellCog free, no credit card needed: https://cellcog.ai/signup
