Anthropic has bought commitments for 1.7 gigawatts of heavy-duty gas-fired generators for $3.4 billion, the Financial Times reported on November 8, 2026 at 11:00 UTC. The deal was struck in late September with OnePWR Solutions, an equipment supplier in San Antonio, Texas, and the FT calls it “the largest known single purchase of power-generation equipment by an AI lab.” Anthropic and OnePWR declined to comment.
It is not an acquisition and not a utility contract. Anthropic took over generator orders that OnePWR had placed with Caterpillar two years earlier, orders the FT says can be delivered in the near term and over the next two years. Below: what is reported, what it works out to per kilowatt, and how it sits next to Anthropic’s IPO filings.
On this page · 8 sectionsOpen
Anthropic bought commitments for 1.7 GW of heavy-duty gas-fired generators for $3.4 billion in late September 2026, the FT reported on November 8.
It took over orders OnePWR Solutions had placed with Caterpillar two years earlier but could not finance; Anthropic had planned to be a OnePWR customer.
The deal included engineering and construction capabilities to install the units; Anthropic did not buy OnePWR, and no staff moved over.
$3.4 billion for 1.7 GW is about $2,000 per kW, and about 0.38% of the $895.4 billion in commitments in Anthropic’s amended S-1.
Not known: the sites, whether the gas is primary, bridge or backup power, and the equipment versus installation split. Neither company commented.
§ 01What the FT reported
| Item | Reported |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1.7 GW of heavy-duty gas-fired generators |
| Price | $3.4 billion |
| When agreed | Late September 2026 |
| Seller | OnePWR Solutions, San Antonio, Texas |
| Generator maker | Caterpillar |
| What Anthropic got | The equipment commitments, plus the engineering and construction capabilities to install them |
| What it did not get | OnePWR itself; no OnePWR employees moved to Anthropic |
| Delivery | Near term and over the next two years |
| Company comment | Anthropic and OnePWR declined to comment |
Bloomberg relayed the FT story at 12:05 UTC and CNBC carried Reuters’ version, which says Reuters “could not immediately verify the report.” No Anthropic statement on the deal appears in its newsroom or research feeds as of 20:00 UTC on November 8.
§ 02The order queue is the asset
The FT’s account turns on timing. OnePWR “had ordered Caterpillar generators two years ago but needed financing to complete the transaction,” and Anthropic, which had planned to become a OnePWR customer, “opted to take over its equipment orders from Caterpillar instead.”
That matters because generators and gas turbines are now a waiting line. In the FT’s words, with “manufacturing lead times stretching years into the future, AI companies are using their financial muscle to cut out intermediaries and take direct control of production.” Anthropic did not buy a company or a power plant. It bought a place in a queue that started two years ago, at prices set before the surge, plus the know-how to get the units installed.
§ 03What it works out to
$3.4 billion for 1.7 gigawatts is $2.0 billion per gigawatt, or about $2,000 per kilowatt of generator capacity. That is our arithmetic from the FT’s two figures, and it is not a clean equipment price: the deal also bought installation capability, and the FT does not split the two.
Against Anthropic’s own disclosures it is small. The amended S-1 lists about $895.4 billion of purchase and lease commitments, mostly compute (our IPO record tracks the filings). $3.4 billion is about 0.38% of that. The FT puts it as “nearly $900bn in computing commitments through 2045.”
| Buyer | What | Price | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anthropic | 1.7 GW of Caterpillar gas generators, via OnePWR | $3.4 billion | Late September 2026 |
| xAI, owned by SpaceX | Mobile gas turbines | $2 billion | Earlier in 2026 |
| Alphabet | Bought the energy developer Intersect | Not stated by the FT | Late 2025 |
The pattern is the same across the three: labs that used to buy electricity from utilities and specialist developers are buying the hardware, or the developer, themselves. Arash Nazhad, head of clean energy and power at Stifel, told the FT: “By owning some of their power infrastructure and having the capabilities in-house, companies believe they can better protect themselves against disruptions beyond their control.”
§ 04Where it sits in the IPO story
The FT ties the purchase to Anthropic’s listing, which it says could come “as early as this month.” Two other numbers in the same report frame it. Anthropic’s monthly payments to lease computing capacity from SpaceX are expected to reach $3.1 billion by year-end (our SpaceX record covers the filings behind that). And Blackstone warned investors that Anthropic “might receive a junk credit rating rather than the investment-grade previously expected.”
Reuters, in the version CNBC carried, adds that it reported in September that Anthropic expects to spend more than $500 billion over the next ten years on AI infrastructure. Against either number, generators are a rounding line. What they buy is control over one input that has been slow to arrive.
§ 05What is not known
- The sites. The FT names no data center where the generators will run.
- The role of the gas. Whether the units are primary power, a bridge until a grid connection, or backup is not reported.
- The split. How much of the $3.4 billion is equipment and how much is installation capability.
- Confirmation. Neither company has commented, and Reuters had not verified the report when it ran.
§ 06Where CellCog sits
CellCog’s AI employees run on Claude Opus 5.5, so how Anthropic secures chips and power is a supply question for us too. We keep this deal in the same set of records as the S-1 filings and the SpaceX compute contract, and update them as primary documents land.
§ 07What we are watching
- An Anthropic statement or a site name. Either would move this from reported to confirmed.
- The next S-1 amendment. Whether the generator commitment appears in the purchase obligations.
- OnePWR and Caterpillar. Any comment on how many units, and when they ship.
§ 08Sources
- Financial Times: Anthropic strikes $3.4bn deal for gas-fired power for data centres, November 8, 2026, read in the Yahoo Finance syndication (11:00 UTC).
- Bloomberg on X: the FT relay, November 8, 2026, 12:05 UTC.
- CNBC carrying Reuters: Anthropic generator deal, November 8, 2026.
- Our records: Anthropic IPO prospectus and Anthropic as SpaceX’s largest customer.
Q1When was the deal made?
In late September 2026, according to the FT, which reported it on November 8, 2026.
Q2How much is that per kilowatt?
About $2,000 per kW: $3.4 billion divided by 1.7 GW. That is our arithmetic, and it includes installation capability, so it is not a pure equipment price.
Q3When will the generators arrive?
The FT says the engines were ordered years ago and are available in the near term and over the next two years. It gives no site or unit schedule.
Q4Is this the biggest AI power-equipment purchase?
The FT calls it the largest known single purchase of power-generation equipment by an AI lab. xAI bought mobile gas turbines for $2 billion earlier in 2026.
Q5How does it relate to the IPO?
The FT says Anthropic may list as early as November 2026 and reported nearly $900 billion in computing commitments through 2045. The generators are a small line next to that.
