GPT-6 Sol is out, and so is GPT-6 Luna. OpenAI posted “Please welcome GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna to the GPT-6 universe.” at 18:12 UTC on September 22, 2026, twelve minutes after its news feed dated the launch post, and 89 minutes after Anthropic released Claude Opus 5.5. Nine days earlier this page was a tracker of three rumored dates and one relayed API sighting. It is now the record: the prices and specs from OpenAI’s model pages, the launch table as printed, the availability, and every September claim graded against what shipped. Times are UTC.
On this page · 11 sectionsOpen
OpenAI released GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna on September 22, 2026. The launch post carries an 18:00 UTC feed timestamp, OpenAI’s X post landed at 18:12 UTC, the API changelog has a September 22 entry for gpt-6-sol and gpt-6-luna, and OpenRouter’s catalog gained both identifiers at 18:12 and 18:13 UTC.
Prices are half the GPT-5.6 promotional rates. GPT-6 Sol is $2 per million input tokens and $10 output, from $4 and $20; GPT-6 Luna is $0.10 and $0.50, from $0.20 and $1.20. Cached input is 10 percent of the input price on both. GPT-6 Astra stays at $10 and $50.
Specs from the model pages: a 1,050,000-token context window with 922,000 max input, 128,000 max output, reasoning effort from none to max with a default of medium, and knowledge cutoffs of April 20, 2026 for Sol and May 18, 2026 for Luna. GPT-5.6 Sol’s cutoff was February 16.
The launch landed 89 minutes after Anthropic released Claude Opus 5.5 at 16:31 UTC, itself 20 percent under Opus 5. Two labs cut prices in one afternoon, and OpenAI’s launch table benchmarks Sol against Claude Opus 5 and Fable 5.1, not against the Opus 5.5 that shipped the same day.
OpenAI’s own framing is the September 6 account’s, not the September 13 one’s: Astra continues to be the best model across the board, and Sol is the everyday model with higher usage limits. The claim that Sol beats Astra in coding is contradicted by the launch post; the claim that it sits below Astra is confirmed.
Sol and Luna arrived 19 days after Astra, between the two rumored dates: after the September 17 Thursday that passed empty and a week before the September 29 DevDay. OpenAI’s flagship-to-sibling gaps now read 0, 12, 0 and 19 days.
Availability: ChatGPT Work and Codex for Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu users, rolling out through the day; Free and Go users get Luna in the desktop app; the models are not yet in Chat; the API has them as gpt-6-sol and gpt-6-luna. CellCog’s one OpenAI seat, the web-search engine inside Agent Team Max, runs GPT-5.6 Sol today.
§ 01What OpenAI released
| Item | GPT-6 Sol | GPT-6 Luna | GPT-5.6 Sol (predecessor) |
|---|---|---|---|
| API identifier | gpt-6-sol | gpt-6-luna | gpt-5.6-sol |
| Input / cached input / output, per million tokens | $2 / $0.20 / $10 | $0.10 / $0.01 / $0.50 | $4 / $0.40 / $20 |
| Prompts over 272K input tokens | 2x input, 1.5x output | 2x input, 1.5x output | same |
| Batch and Flex / fast mode | half price / double | half price / double | half price |
| Context window / max input / max output | 1,050,000 / 922,000 / 128,000 | 1,050,000 / 922,000 / 128,000 | 1,050,000 / 922,000 / 128,000 |
| Reasoning effort | none to max, default medium | none to max, default medium | none to max, default medium |
| Knowledge cutoff | April 20, 2026 | May 18, 2026 | February 16, 2026 |
| Availability | API; ChatGPT Work and Codex on paid plans | API; ChatGPT Work and Codex; desktop app for Free and Go | API; ChatGPT |
Two lines from the post set the frame. “GPT‑6 Astra continues to be our best model across the board.” And: “These models are not yet available in Chat.” Sol and Luna are the working models under Astra, reached through ChatGPT Work, Codex and the API first.
§ 02Pricing: half, on both
OpenAI’s own summary is “reducing API prices for Sol and Luna by 50% compared with their GPT‑5.6 promotional pricing”. The pricing page confirms it row by row.
| Model | Input | Cached input | Output | Cut vs predecessor |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | $10 | $1 | $50 | flagship, unchanged |
| GPT-6 Sol | $2 | $0.20 | $10 | 50% input, 50% output |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | $4 | $0.40 | $20 | promotional rate, still listed |
| GPT-6 Luna | $0.10 | $0.01 | $0.50 | 50% input, 58% output |
| GPT-5.6 Luna | $0.20 | $0.02 | $1.20 | still listed |
The tracker’s open question was where a GPT-6 Sol would land on the ladder. The answer is the slot below GPT-5.6 Sol at half its price, which makes the September 6 reading, the everyday GPT-6 for Plus users, the right one. Alongside the price, OpenAI says GPT-6 caching now yields higher hit rates by default, that changing reasoning effort or tool availability no longer breaks the cache, and that explicit breakpoints let developers choose where a cached prefix ends.
§ 03One afternoon, two price cuts
| Time (UTC) | Lab | Model | Input / output | Versus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16:31 | Anthropic | Claude Opus 5.5 | $4 / $20 | Opus 5 at $5 / $25, 20% under |
| 18:00 | OpenAI | GPT-6 Sol | $2 / $10 | GPT-5.6 Sol at $4 / $20, 50% under |
| 18:00 | OpenAI | GPT-6 Luna | $0.10 / $0.50 | GPT-5.6 Luna at $0.20 / $1.20 |
OpenAI’s launch table compares Sol with Claude Opus 5 and Claude Fable 5.1, the models that existed when it was built; the Opus 5.5 that shipped 89 minutes earlier is not in it, and Anthropic’s table does not carry GPT-6 Sol either. Our Opus 5.5 record has Anthropic’s side of the afternoon.
§ 04The launch table, as OpenAI printed it
| Model (effort) | Score | Cost per task |
|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Sol (xhigh) | 33.2% | $0.27 |
| GPT-6 Astra (low) | 30.3% | 3.9x GPT-6 Sol |
| Claude Opus 5 (max) | 26.9% | 11.1x GPT-6 Sol |
| Claude Fable 5.1 with Opus 5 fallback (max) | 31.4% | more than 8.9x, fallback cost not reported |
The other numbers OpenAI printed, each with its own footing: on Agents’ Last Exam V1, Sol at max effort scores 56.4 percent, above Claude Opus 5’s best at 60 percent lower cost per task; on DeepSWE v1.1, Sol at max scores 68.8 percent, “within 1.1 percentage points of Claude Fable 5’s highest score in the evaluation”, and Luna at max scores 66.6 percent at 93 percent lower cost than Opus 5; on OSWorld 2.0 offline, Sol at xhigh effort “achieves a similar score to Claude Opus 5 at medium effort”, 60.5 percent versus 60.3, “at approximately 80% lower cost per task”. On OpenAI’s internal factuality evaluation, “GPT‑6 Sol makes about half as many mistakes as its predecessor, approaching Astra-level reliability at much lower cost.”
Two caveats are OpenAI’s own. Competitor scores are from public reports, and “Scores for Claude Fable 5 were reported when scores for Claude Fable 5.1 were unavailable.” And the Fable 5.1 datapoint on AutomationBench omits the Opus 5 fallbacks that occurred on about 40 percent of tasks, so its cost is understated. There is no independent score for either model yet; the leaderboards are the watch.
§ 05Every September claim, graded
| Claim | Source | Status | Receipt |
|---|---|---|---|
| A second GPT-6 model called Sol in internal testing | @pankajkumar_dev, Sep 6 | Confirmed | Shipped as GPT-6 Sol |
| Weaker than Astra, a middle ground for Plus users with better limits | @pankajkumar_dev, Sep 6 | Confirmed | OpenAI: Astra remains best across the board; Sol has higher usage limits |
| Launch at DevDay, September 29 | @pankajkumar_dev, Sep 6, worded could | Missed | Shipped a week earlier |
| Release sometime next week, best guess Thursday September 17 | @AILeaksAndNews, Sep 10 | Missed | Nothing on September 17; shipped September 22 |
| gpt-6-sol reportedly appeared in the OpenAI API | @Mr_Salio, Sep 13 | Cannot check | The identifier shipped; no public catalog carried it before September 22 |
| Beats GPT-6 Astra in coding and frontend generation | @Mr_Salio, Sep 13 | Contradicted | OpenAI: Astra continues to be our best model across the board |
| A lot cheaper | @Mr_Salio, Sep 13 | Confirmed | Half the GPT-5.6 Sol price |
| This week or next | @matthewmillerai, Sep 13 | Confirmed | September 22 is the following week |
| Big ship this week, then DevDay | @sama, Sep 15 | Held | Astra for Law shipped that week; Sol the week after; DevDay September 29 remains |
| A Luna alongside Sol | nobody | Not predicted | GPT-6 Luna shipped the same minute |
Four confirmed, two missed, one contradicted, one uncheckable, one held, and one thing nobody said: the accounts described one model and OpenAI shipped two. The date-bearing claims were the weakest, as the tracker expected, and the qualitative claim that turned out right was the modest one.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 3 | GPT-6 Astra ships | OpenAI |
| Sep 6 | Internally testing GPT-6 Sol, could launch at DevDay | @pankajkumar_dev on X |
| Sep 10 | Spotted, sometime next week, best guess Thursday | @AILeaksAndNews on X |
| Sep 13 | gpt-6-sol reportedly appeared in the API; this week or next | @Mr_Salio, @matthewmillerai on X |
| Sep 15 | Altman: big ship this week, and then for DevDay | @sama on X |
| Sep 17 | The rumored Thursday passes with nothing | Our read |
| Sep 22, 16:31 | Anthropic releases Claude Opus 5.5 | @AnthropicAI on X |
| Sep 22, 18:00 | OpenAI publishes Introducing GPT-6 Sol and Luna | openai.com news feed |
| Sep 22, 18:12 | OpenAI’s X post; gpt-6-sol appears in OpenRouter’s catalog | @OpenAI on X; OpenRouter |
| Sep 22, 19:05 | Model pages, pricing page and changelog carry both models | Our read |
§ 06The rhythm, closed
| Flagship | Smaller sibling | Days after |
|---|---|---|
| GPT-5, August 7, 2025 | gpt-5-mini and gpt-5-nano, same day | 0 |
| GPT-5.4, March 5, 2026 | GPT-5.4 mini and nano, March 17 | 12 |
| GPT-5.6 Sol, July 9, 2026 | Terra and Luna, same day | 0 |
| GPT-6 Astra, September 3, 2026 | GPT-6 Sol and Luna, September 22 | 19 |
Nineteen days is the longest gap in the table and still inside the shape the tracker described: Astra was the first OpenAI flagship in a year to ship alone, and a sibling followed. No Terra this time; the GPT-6 family is Astra, Sol and Luna as of today.
§ 07What the market said
Polymarket’s next-GPT markets moved on the posts above; a market is a read on belief, and this one resolved on OpenAI’s schedule rather than any account’s date.
§ 08Where CellCog stands
Our conflict, declared: we build CellCog, a platform where a business hires AI employees that keep memory and work as a team, and we choose the models underneath them. As of September 22, 2026 our Agent, Creative and Team tiers run on Claude Opus 5.5, moved there the day it shipped (our day-one product update), and Flash on Gemini 3.8 Flash; the one OpenAI seat in our stack is the web-search engine inside Agent Team Max, which moved to GPT-5.6 Sol on August 14. GPT-6 Sol at half that price, with a two-month-newer knowledge cutoff, is the obvious candidate for that seat, tested on citation accuracy across long research runs before price. If it moves, the receipt lands here and in a product update the same day.
§ 09What we are watching for
- Independent scores for Sol and Luna: Artificial Analysis, the Terminal-Bench and OSWorld leaderboards, Arena.
- The GPT-5.6 Sol promotional price, advertised through at least November 21, now that its successor costs half.
- Whether Sol and Luna reach Chat, and what DevDay on September 29 adds.
- Our own search-seat decision, and its receipt.
§ 10Update log
This is a living page; when the story moves, the update lands here.
September 29, 2026: GPT-6.1 Sol replaced GPT-6 Sol seven days after it shipped. OpenAI’s API changelog released gpt-6.1-sol “for complex coding and professional work at a lower cost than GPT-6 Astra,” and the gpt-6-sol model page now points readers to “the newer Sol model.” Prices hold at $2 per million input tokens and $10 output; cached input falls to 5 percent of the input rate (from 10 percent), cache writes cost $2.50, the knowledge cutoff moves to April 30, 2026, and prompts over 272K input tokens bill at 2x input and 1.5x output for the whole request. Artificial Analysis puts it 4 points above GPT-6 Sol on its Intelligence Index and 1 point below GPT-6 Astra, at $0.72 per index task against $1.05 for GPT-6 Sol and $3.26 for Astra. There is no 6.1 Luna: OpenRouter lists gpt-6.1-sol and gpt-6.1-sol-pro only, read October 1, 2026.
October 11, 2026: OpenAI raised GPT-6.1 Sol’s default context in Codex and ChatGPT Work. Tibo, who leads product on Codex, posted at 23:45 UTC: “We have increased default context length for GPT-6.1 Sol to 500k when used through Codex & Work, up from 272k”. He said it reduces compactions, that users can still override it, and that the model’s maximum stays 1M. The post passed 1 million views within a day. The API prices above do not change: prompts over 272K input tokens still bill at 2x input and 1.5x output.
September 22, 2026, 21:00 UTC: OpenAI published Better prompt caching for GPT-6. Its prompt caching guide now describes caching as enabled by default, cached input “discounted up to 90%”, a 30-minute cache lifetime that restarts every time a prefix is reused, explicit cache breakpoints with up to four cache writes per request, and a Prompt Caching Dashboard. For long agent runs the lifetime matters as much as the discount: a prefix left idle for more than 30 minutes has to be written again.
As of September 22, 2026, 19:10 UTC: released. OpenAI’s launch post (feed time 18:00 UTC), its X posts (18:12 UTC), the API changelog’s September 22 entry, the gpt-6-sol and gpt-6-luna model pages, the pricing page and OpenRouter’s catalog all read within an hour of the post. The tracker became this record; every September claim graded above.
September 18, 2026, 07:15 UTC: the rumored Thursday passed. September 17 closed in Pacific time at 07:00 UTC with no gpt-6-sol anywhere OpenAI publishes; the September 10 account’s best guess graded a miss.
September 16, 2026, 01:30 UTC: the ChatGPT Learn changelog (entry dated September 14) retired GPT-5.5 from ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work and Codex on October 14 and told Codex users to switch to gpt-5.6-sol; no document named a gpt-6-sol.
September 15, 2026, 19:20 UTC: Sam Altman posted “big 🚢 this week” and “and then for devday”; no model named, logged as a hint.
As of September 13, 2026: page opened. Latest rumored windows were the week of September 14 and DevDay, September 29; no official movement to log.
§ 11Sources
- OpenAI, Introducing GPT-6 Sol and Luna, September 22, 2026 (news feed time 18:00 UTC), and the @OpenAI post, 18:12 UTC, read directly.
- OpenAI, GPT-6 Sol model page, GPT-6 Luna model page, GPT-5.6 Sol model page, pricing, API changelog, all read September 22, 2026, 19:05 UTC; OpenRouter models API, same time.
- Anthropic, Introducing Claude Opus 5.5, September 22, 2026, and the @AnthropicAI post, 16:31 UTC.
- X posts of September 6 to 15, read directly at the time: @pankajkumar_dev September 6; @AILeaksAndNews September 10; @Mr_Salio September 13; Sam Altman September 15.
- OpenAI, GPT-6 Astra, September 3, 2026; GPT-5.4 mini and gpt-5-mini model pages.
- CellCog routing statements reflect our configuration on September 22, 2026.
Q1When was GPT-6 Sol released?
September 22, 2026. OpenAI’s news feed dates the launch post 18:00 UTC, the OpenAI account posted it on X at 18:12 UTC, the API changelog carries a September 22 entry releasing gpt-6-sol and gpt-6-luna, and OpenRouter’s catalog entries for both are timestamped 18:12 and 18:13 UTC. Anthropic had released Claude Opus 5.5 at 16:31 UTC the same day.
Q2How much cheaper is GPT-6 Sol than GPT-5.6 Sol?
Half. Input drops from $4 to $2 per million tokens and output from $20 to $10; cached input from $0.40 to $0.20. OpenAI attributes the cut to improvements in caching and inference, and says it is passing the savings on. GPT-5.6 Sol’s promotional price had been advertised as running at least through November 21, 2026.
Q3What did OpenAI publish about Sol's performance?
On AutomationBench 1.0.6, GPT-6 Sol at xhigh effort scores 33.2 percent at $0.27 per task, above GPT-6 Astra at low effort (30.3 percent, 3.9x the cost), Claude Opus 5 at max (26.9 percent, 11.1x) and Claude Fable 5.1 with Opus 5 fallback at max (31.4 percent, more than 8.9x, fallback cost not reported). On DeepSWE v1.1, Sol at max scores 68.8 percent against Claude Fable 5’s 69.9 percent at about 80 percent lower cost per task. On OSWorld 2.0 offline, Sol at xhigh scores 60.5 percent to Opus 5 at medium’s 60.3. Competitor scores are from public reports, and Fable 5 stands in where Fable 5.1 had none.
Q4Where can I use GPT-6 Sol and Luna?
In ChatGPT Work and Codex for Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu users, rolling out gradually through September 22; Free and Go users get GPT-6 Luna in the desktop app; neither model is in Chat yet. In the API they are gpt-6-sol and gpt-6-luna on the Responses and Chat Completions APIs, with EU data residency on Standard processing only.
Q5Should I move to GPT-6 Sol?
If you call the API directly, the identifier is a swap and the price is half; re-run your effort sweep, since the default is medium and the range runs to max. If you are choosing where your agents run rather than which API to call, the model is a setting and the layer around it is the product. CellCog’s Agent, Creative and Team tiers moved to Claude Opus 5.5 the day it shipped, September 22, and the one OpenAI seat in our stack, the web-search engine inside Agent Team Max, runs GPT-5.6 Sol; GPT-6 Sol at half the price is the obvious candidate for that seat, and a swap is a same-day product note. Try it free, no credit card needed; you pay for the work, not the hire, and the cost depends purely on how much work you assign.
