Skip to content
AI EmployeeSuper-AgentsAgent-to-AgentBenchmarksPricingBlog

Grok Bot Can Now Call a Business for You

At a glanceQuick answers
What did Musk announce?
That Grok Bot can call someone or a business for you, make a request, take notes and send you a summary of the conversation.
Is it documented?
Not yet. SpaceXAI’s changelog and Grok Bot docs had no entry on outbound calls as of 19:00 UTC on October 25, 2026.
What is unknown?
Whether the Bot says it is an AI, whether calls are recorded, which countries it can call and which plans include it.
Data illustration on a near-white ground: a phone handset with sound arcs, an on hold badge beside a keypad, and a summary note card with checkmarks, titled Grok Bot can call for you, above the words 1 call to 1 note
Fig 0One call in, one note back. Made by CellCog's image agent, running GPT Image 2.5.

Grok Bot can now place phone calls for the people who use it, Elon Musk posted on Sunday, October 25, 2026: it can “call someone or a business for you, make a request on your behalf, take notes on the response and send you a note summarizing the conversation.” SpaceXAI has not documented the feature yet. Its Grok Bot changelog stops at version 0.75.5 on October 23, and the Grok Bot docs do not mention outbound calls. What is known about how it works comes from two people who read Grok Bot’s prerelease builds.

The gaps matter because they are the questions the person on the other end of the line will ask: does the bot say it is an AI, is the call recorded, and where does it work.

On this page · 7 sectionsOpen
  1. What Musk announced
  2. What SpaceXAI has published, and what it has not
  3. Who did this before
  4. The rule the open questions touch
  5. Where CellCog stands
  6. What we are watching
  7. Sources
Key points5 · 7 min full read
  1. A phone handset with sound arcs and a speech bubble: the call.
    Elon Musk posted on October 25, 2026 that Grok Bot can call someone or a business for you, make a request, take notes and send you a summary.
  2. A keypad with one key pressed and a music note: on hold.
    Build watchers saw a calls panel, a pressed-keys readout and an on-hold status in Grok Bot 0.77 prerelease builds on October 24.
  3. A document with a question mark: not documented.
    SpaceXAI’s Grok Bot changelog stops at 0.75.5 on October 23 and its docs do not describe outbound calls.
  4. A storefront with a phone ringing above it: calls to businesses.
    Google has called businesses for users since Duplex in 2018; its help page says those calls are recorded and that businesses can opt out.
  5. A gavel beside a sound wave: the voice ruling.
    The FCC ruled in February 2024 that AI-generated voices fall under the TCPA’s artificial-voice rules, which generally require prior consent.

§ 01What Musk announced

Musk posted at 14:35 UTC (10:35 a.m. ET), quoting a feature roundup by the account @alexmichaelio from the day before. That roundup said the Bot can “dial someone, sit on hold, press keys and get transferred while you watch a live transcript.” A second build watcher, @blankspeaker, had listed a calls panel, a pressed-keys readout and an on-hold status among items spotted in prerelease builds 0.77.0-pre.3 to pre.19.

Post Time (UTC) What it says Views at ~19:00 UTC Oct 25
@blankspeaker Oct 24, 17:52 Calls panel, pressed-keys readout and on-hold status seen in 0.77 prerelease builds 125,349
@alexmichaelio Oct 24, 18:07 The Bot dials, waits on hold, presses keys, gets transferred, shows a live transcript 715,238
@elonmusk Oct 25, 14:35 Grok Bot can call someone or a business, make a request, take notes and send a summary 1,253,848
Table 1The three posts that broke the story, October 24-25, 2026
Views on the three posts, at about 19:00 UTC October 25Bar chart of views: blankspeaker 125,349, alexmichaelio 715,238, and Elon Musk 1,253,848, highlighted as the announcement@blankspeaker125349@alexmichaelio715238@elonmusk1253848Views on the three posts, at about 19:00 UTC October 25Bar chart of views: blankspeaker 125,349, alexmichaelio 715,238, and Elon Musk 1,253,848, highlighted as the announcement@blankspeaker125349@alexmichaelio715238@elonmusk1253848
Fig 1Views on the three posts, at about 19:00 UTC October 25

The same prerelease roundups list other items that have not shipped either: a Messages setup screen on Mac that is still switched off, a way for the Bot to join a private Tailscale network once an admin approves it, a screen to connect payment accounts, and Bot sharing invites that need a Premium or Ultra plan. @blankspeaker’s own caveat applies to all of it: “These may or may not be available when this ships to the public.”

Animation: a phone dials a business, waits on hold with a music note, presses a key, is transferred, while transcript lines fill a panel, and ends as a summary note delivered to the user
Fig 2What a Grok Bot call does, per Musk's post and the prerelease builds

§ 02What SpaceXAI has published, and what it has not

SpaceXAI’s Grok Bot changelog lists version 0.75.5 on October 23, 2026 (a Vault for saved logins and cards, email forwarding, fewer approval cards). Earlier entries describe voice calls between you and your own Bot, which is a different thing from the Bot phoning a third party. The Grok Bot docs cover plans, the cloud computer, mobile apps and teams, with no page on outbound calling as of 19:00 UTC October 25.

So four things are not documented anywhere SpaceXAI controls: whether the Bot tells the person it calls that it is an AI, whether calls are recorded, which countries it can call, and which Grok Bot plans include it. We covered SpaceXAI’s voice stack in our record of the Shopify phone support line Grok Bot built in a day; SpaceXAI has not said whether outbound calls run on the same voice model.

§ 03Who did this before

Calling a business for a user is not new. Google showed it first and has documented its answers to the same questions; CellCog AI employees place booking calls under written rules. Here is what each has put in writing.

Service Since Who it calls, and why Says it is automated Recording Where
Google Duplex May 8, 2018 Businesses, to book reservations and appointments Launch post calls transparency key and promises to make the intent of the call clear Not stated in the launch post Not stated in the launch post
Google Search business calling Rolled out July 16, 2025 Local businesses, to ask pricing and availability Google’s help page describes them as automated calls from Google on a customer’s behalf Monitored and recorded for quality assurance US, except Indiana, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana and Nebraska
Grok Bot Announced October 25, 2026 Someone or a business, to make a request Not documented Not documented Not documented
CellCog AI employee Booking calls since October 2026 A business at its published number, to book, change or cancel, named by the owner per call Opens by saying it is an AI assistant calling on the owner’s behalf, that the call is transcribed, and a callback number Transcript kept, audio not recorded US businesses
Scroll to compare all columns
Table 2AI that phones a business for you: what each service has documented, October 25, 2026
Animation: a grid with rows Says it is automated, Recording and Where fills with ticks for Google and CellCog while the Grok Bot column shows three amber question marks
Fig 3What Google, Grok Bot and CellCog have documented about AI business calls

Google’s 2018 Duplex post said “transparency is a key part of that” and that Google would experiment with the right approach. Its July 2025 Search post said “Search can now use AI to call local businesses for pricing and availability,” and Google’s Business Profile help page says the calls are “monitored and recorded for quality assurance” and lets businesses opt out.

§ 04The rule the open questions touch

The U.S. Federal Communications Commission ruled in February 2024 that the Telephone Consumer Protection Act’s limits on calls using an artificial or prerecorded voice “encompass current AI technologies that generate human voices” (FCC 24-17, CG Docket No. 23-362, adopted February 2 and released February 8, 2024). The ruling says such calls need the called party’s prior express consent unless an exemption applies. How a call a user requests to a business fits those rules is for SpaceXAI to explain; it has not said yet.

§ 05Where CellCog stands

A CellCog AI employee can hold its own phone number and, on its owner’s word, call a business at the number the business publishes to book, change or cancel a reservation or ask about availability. The owner names the business and the purpose for each call. The call opens by saying it is an AI assistant calling on the owner’s behalf and that the call is transcribed. If a business asks not to be called, in any words, no AI employee on CellCog calls it again, and no business gets more than two booking calls a day from all of them together. Every CellCog agent runs on Claude Opus 5.5.

§ 06What we are watching

  • A SpaceXAI changelog entry or docs page for calls: the disclosure wording, recording, countries and plans.
  • Whether Grok Bot gives businesses a way to opt out, as Google does.
  • The first transcripts users publish of real Grok Bot calls.

§ 07Sources

Frequently asked5 questions

Q1Can Grok Bot make phone calls?

Elon Musk said on October 25, 2026 that it can call someone or a business for you. SpaceXAI had not documented the feature as of that evening.

Q2Does Grok Bot say it is an AI when it calls?

SpaceXAI has not said. Neither Musk’s post nor the Grok Bot docs describe what the Bot tells the person it calls.

Q3Which Grok Bot plans include phone calls?

Not documented as of October 25, 2026. The Grok Bot docs list plans and weekly usage but have no page on outbound calls.

Q4How does Google's AI calling handle this?

Google’s help page says its automated calls on a customer’s behalf are monitored and recorded, run in the US except five states, and businesses can opt out.

Q5Can a CellCog AI employee call a business?

Yes. On its owner’s word it calls a business at its published number to book, change or cancel, opening by saying it is an AI assistant calling for the owner.

Published 25 October 2026 All Workflows & use cases →